The following PDF files contain the complete text of the book and may be used for any non-commercial purpose. The text remains © 1990 by the author.  Open access is better with open dialogue. Click here to leave or read comments and critiques about this book

The Taciturn Text

The Fiction of Robert Penn Warren

Randolph Paul Runyon

Table of Contents, Acknowledgments
Introduction: Ianthe and the Logic of the Dream
1. Night Writer: Or, the New Morpheus: Night Rider, 1939
2. Unlocking the Gate: At Heaven’s Gate, 1943
3. Willie’s Wink: All the King’s Men, 1946
4. The View from the Attic: The Circus in the Attic and Other Stories, 1947
5. Beaumont’s Dream: World Enough and Time, 1950
6. Decomposing Angels: Band of Angels, 1955
7. The Fictive Fetus in the Cave: The Cave, 1959
8. Moses in the Wilderness: Wilderness, 1961
9. Continent in Flood: Flood, 1964
10. Christmas Gift: Meet Me in the Green Glen, 1971
11. Old Buck’s Golden Shower: Or, the New Perseus A Place to Come to, 1977
Conclusion:"at the end of life’s long sorites"
Works Cited

Go to book information page