21st Century Essays
Edited by David Lazar and Patrick Madden

New & Forthcoming 21st Century Essays Titles:

book cover

Fear Icons


Kisha Lewellyn Schlegel

EXPEXCTED Pub Date: September, 2018
5.5 x 8.5, 160 pp.
$19.95 Paper

book cover

Hummingbirds Between the Pages

Chris Arthur

EXPECTED Pub Date: July, 2018
5.5 x 8.5, 254 pp.
$23.95 Paper

book cover


A Love Story

Nicole Walker

Pub Date: August, 2018
5.5 x 8.5, 288 pp.
$23.95 Paper

book cover

Love’s Long Line

Sophfronia Scott

Pub Date: February, 2018
5.5 x 8.5, 240 pp.
$19.95 Paper

book cover

The Real Life of the Parthenon

Patricia Vigderman

Pub Date: January, 2018
5.5 x 8.5, 200 pp.
31 illustration
$21.95 Paper

book cover

Curiouser and Curiouser

Nicholas Delbanco

Pub date: July 28, 2017
184 pp. 5.5 x 8.5
$19.95 Paper

book cover

You, Me, and the Violence

Catherine Taylor

Pub date: September, 2017
166 pp. 5.5 x 8.5
$19.95 Paper

book cover

A Mother's Tale

Phillip Lopate

Pub date: January 12, 2017
196 pp. 6 x 9
$24.95 Hardcover

book cover

Don't Come Back

Lina María Ferreira Cabeza-Vanegas

Pub date: January 13, 2017
277 pp. 6 x 9
38 b&w photographs
$22.95 Paperback

This series from Mad Creek Books is a vehicle to discover, publish, and promote some of the most daring, ingenious, and artistic nonfiction. This is the first and only major series that announces its focus on the essay—a genre whose plasticity, timelessness, popularity, and centrality to nonfiction writing make it especially important in the field of nonfiction literature. In addition to publishing the most interesting and innovative books of essays by American writers, the series publishes extraordinary international essayists and reprint works by neglected or forgotten essayists, voices that deserve to be heard, revived, and reprised. The series is a major addition to the possibilities of contemporary literary nonfiction, focusing on that central, frequently chimerical, and invariably supple form: The Essay.

For more information about the series or submitting a proposal contact: Kristen Elias Rowley, OSU Press Editor-in-Chief. Submissions to the series and to The Gournay Prize will be accepted annually in the spring (Check back January 1st for more information).



As recipient of the prize, Bilocerkowycz receives $1,000 and On Our Way Home from the Revolution will be published as part of the 21st Century Essays series in Fall 2019. Bilocerkowycz's On Our Way Home from the Revolution unpacks the Ukrainian diaspora's nationalist tendencies, accusations of anti-Semitism, and narrative of repression, inviting readers to meet a swirling cast of post-Soviet characters, and uncomfortably muddling the distinctions between innocence and complicity, between agency and fate.

Bilocerkowycz’s essays and poems have appeared or are forthcoming in Guernica, Image, Colorado Review, The Southampton Review, Ninth Letter, and Crab Orchard Review. Before earning her MFA at the Ohio State University, Sonya served as a Fulbright Fellow in Belarus, an educational recruiter in the Republic of Georgia, and as a visiting instructor at Ukrainian Catholic University in Lviv. Her essay about the Chernobyl disaster was a 2017 finalist for the AWP Kurt Brown Prize in Creative Nonfiction. Sonya is Nonfiction Associate Editor at Anomaly (formerly Drunken Boat) and was the 2017–18 Milton Fellow in Creative Writing at Seattle Pacific University.

This year’s runner up is Sibbie O’Sullivan. Other finalists for the 2018
award include Jill Christman, Charles Green, Lesley Jenike, Elizabeth
Kadetsky, Nick Kowalczyk, and Scott Morris.

The Gourney Prize Winners

2017 Kisha Lewellyn Schlegel for Fear Icons (forthcoming in 2018)
   Runner up: Paul Crenshaw for This One Will Hurt You (forthcoming in Spring of 2019)

About the Series Editors

photograh of David Lazar

David Lazar’s books include the forthcoming essays collections I’ll Be Your Mirror: Essays and Aphorisms and On Character, from the University of Nebraska Press. Other books include: essay collections Occasional Desire and The Body of Brooklyn; the prose poetry collections Powder Town and Who’s Afraid of Helen of Troy; the nonfiction anthologies After Montaigne, Truth in Nonfiction, and Essaying the Essay, and the interview collections Michael Powell: Interviews and Conversations with M.F.K. Fisher. His digital anthology for Essay Press, Considering Garlands, was the first anthology on anthologies. Lazar founded the Ph.D. Program in nonfiction writing at Ohio University and directed the creation of the MFA program in nonfiction at Columbia College Chicago, where he teaches. He is also a faculty mentor at the Mile High MFA program at Regis University. He has been awarded an Ohio Arts Council Individual Artist Grant, and he was a John Simon Guggenheim Fellow in Nonfiction for 2015–2016. He is the founding editor of Hotel Amerika, now in its fifteenth year.

Patrick Madden Photograph

Patrick Madden is the author of two books of essays, Sublime Physick and Quotidiana (ForeWord magazine and Association for Mormon Letters awards winner and finalist for the PEN Center USA Literary Award); coeditor of After Montaigne: Contemporary Essayists Cover the Essays; and co-translator of the Selected Poems of Eduardo Milán. His essays have appeared in Fourth Genre, Hotel Amerika, the Iowa Review, the Normal School, Portland Magazine, River Teeth, and other journals, as well as in the Best Creative Nonfiction and Best American Spiritual Writing. A two-time Fulbright fellow to Uruguay, he teaches at Brigham Young University and Vermont College of Fine Arts, and he curates the online anthology and essay resource at www.quotidiana.org.

Sign up to be notified of new books published in the 21st Century Essays Series

* required

Editorial Advisory Board

Robert Atwan

Mary Cappello

John D’Agata

Wayne Koestenbaum

Phillip Lopate

Maggie Nelson

Lia Purpura

Claudia Rankine

David Shields