The Journal Charles B. Wheeler Poetry Prize

2014 Winner

Ansel Book Cover

Talvikki Ansel
Somewhere in Space

The Journal, the literary magazine of The Ohio State University MFA Program in Creative Writing, selects one full-length manuscript of poetry each year for publication by The Ohio State University Press. In addition to publication under a standard book contract, the winning author receives the Charles B. Wheeler prize of $2,500.

Entries of at least 48 typed pages of original poetry must be submitted electronically during the month of September. Your name or any other identification must not appear anywhere on the manuscript. All manuscripts will be read anonymously.

Manuscripts must be previously unpublished. Some or all of the poems in the collection may have appeared in periodicals, chapbooks, or anthologies, but these must be identified.

A nonrefundable handling fee of $25.00 (US dollars) will be charged for each entry. Entrants will receive a one-year subscription (two issues) to The Journal.

The winning entry, screened by the editorial staff of The Journal and The Ohio State University Press Associate Poetry Editor, Pablo Tanguay, will be chosen by Poetry Editor, Kathy Fagan, and announced the following January.

Submissions are accepted only electronically. Click here to submit your manuscript (look for The OSU Press/The Journal Wheeler Prize in Poetry submit button).

Contact Information -- Please note that email is preferred for a faster response.


Phone:  614-292-2242


Previous winners

2014 Talvikki Ansel Somewhere in Space
2013 Karin Gottshall The River Won't Hold You
2012 Corey Van Landingham Antidote
2011 Rebecca Hazelton Fair Copy
2010 Edward Haworth Hoeppner Blood Prism
2009 Kevin Honold Men as Trees Walking
2008 Kary Wayson American Husband
2007 Andrew Grace Shadeland
2006 Mark Svenvold Empire Burlesque
2005 Jean Nordhaus Innocence
2004 Brian Swann Autumn Road
2003 Beth Gylys Spot in the Dark
2002 Gary Fincke Writing Letters for the Blind
2001 Patty Seyburn Mechanical Cluster
2000 Joseph Duemer Magical Thinking
1999 Lia Purpura Stone Sky Lifting
1998 Mary Ann Samyn Captivity Narrative
1997 Walt McDonald Blessings the Body Gave
1996 Judith Hall Anatomy, Errata
1995 John Haag Stones Don't Float (out of print)
1994 Fatima Lim-Wilson Crossing the Snow Bridge
1993 David Young Night Thoughts and Henry Vaughan (out of print)
1992 Bruce Beasley The Creation (out of print)
1991 Dionisio Martinez History as a Second Language (out of print)
1990 Teresa Cader Guests (out of print)
1989 Mary Cross Rooms, Which Were People (out of print)
1988 Albert Goldbarth Popular Culture (out of print)
1987 Sue Owen The Book of Winter (out of print)
1986 Robert Cording Life-list (out of print)