AWP 2023: March 8–11

Welcome / Calls for Submissions

In-person Booth: 1026

Welcome to the virtual booth for the Association of Writers and Writing Programs conference for The Ohio State University Press and our literary imprint, Mad Creek Books. Mad Creek, publisher of the 2020 National Book Award finalist How to Make a Slave and Other Essays, is a home for artistic, daring, and innovative books, with the goal of representing the true diversity of writers working today.

Conference Discount:

Visit us at booth #1026 in Seattle or use code OSUAWP at checkout for 40% off all Mad Creek books through 4/30/23.

Browse AWP Books

Gournay Prize call for submissions:

Return to top

Each year, The Gournay Prize awards $1000 and publication in the 21st Century Essays series to a first book of essays. Writers may have published books previously in other genres. Translations are not eligible.

Agata Brewer headshot, showing the author with a slight smile and long hair in loose waves around her face Congratulations to Agata Brewer, winner of the 2022 Gournay Prize. The Hunger Book: A Memoir of Communist Poland will be published in September 2023.

The Journal Non/Fiction Prize Winner:

Return to top

The Journal Non/Fiction Prize is awarded annually to a book-length collection of short stories, essays, or a combination of the two. The winner receives $1500 and publication by The Ohio State University Press

Mary Quade headshot Mary Quade is the winner of the 2022 Non/Fiction Prize. Zoo World: Essays will be published in August 2023. This debut essay collection melds travel and nature writing to explore humans’ attempts at redemption for violence they have visited upon the world, critically examining relationships with other species and the earth via such diverse topics as zoos, insects, ancient churches, tourism, and climate change.

Meet and Pitch Our Editor in Chief

Return to top

Kristen Elias Rowley headshot
Kristen Elias Rowley, Editor in Chief

Series: 21st Century EssaysMacheteLatinographix

What she’s looking for: “I’m actively seeking books of nonfiction and fiction for our Mad Creek book series as well as for our general Mad Creek list. I’m especially interested in manuscripts that complicate notions of or explore new ideas around identity, family, culture, borders, race, religion, history, gender, neurodiversity, and the Midwest. I welcome all forms of nonfiction (essay, memoir, reportage, literary journalism, short shorts, to name just a few); novels and short stories; and graphic novels/memoirs (for our Latinographix series).”

If you are unable to connect with her at AWP, email queries are welcome, but all materials should come through our Submittable account.

Email Kristen: